<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>The Central Texas IT Guy &#187; Spammers</title>
	<atom:link href="http://thecentexitguy.com/tag/spammers/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://thecentexitguy.com</link>
	<description>Roundrock Web Design, Austin Search Engine Marketing, Internet Marketing Austin, Seo Austin, Web Development Austin , Web Design Austin</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Mon, 30 Jan 2012 11:46:30 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.8.6</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
			<item>
		<title>Spammers Spread Trojan with H1N1 E-Mails</title>
		<link>http://thecentexitguy.com/2009/12/03/spammers-spread-trojan-with-h1n1-e-mails/</link>
		<comments>http://thecentexitguy.com/2009/12/03/spammers-spread-trojan-with-h1n1-e-mails/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 03 Dec 2009 14:41:43 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>centexitguy</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Security]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Malware]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Spammers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Trojan Viruses]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://thecentexitguy.com/?p=200</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Dec 3, 2009
Several security vendors are reporting a large malware campaign taking advantage of interest in H1N1 vaccinations.
The e-mails claim to link to a Web page for the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention where users can register for a new &#8220;State Vaccination H1N1 Program.&#8221; However, anyone who clicks on the link ends up with [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Dec 3, 2009</p>
<p>Several security vendors are reporting a large malware campaign taking advantage of interest in H1N1 vaccinations.</p>
<p>The e-mails claim to link to a Web page for the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention where users can register for a new &#8220;State Vaccination H1N1 Program.&#8221; However, anyone who clicks on the link ends up with the Zeus Trojan, a prevalent piece of malware used to steal data off of compromised machines.</p>
<p>Security company AppRiver detected the campaign around 8:15 a.m. (CST) Dec. 1, and a hour later was filtering about nearly 18,000 e-mails per minute.</p>
<p>According to Symantec, the domain used in the e-mail links has the format of online.cdc.gov.[RANDOM CHARS].[TLD NAME].im, such as online.cdc.gov.yhnbad.com.im.</p>
<p>&#8220;As is usually the case with these campaigns, the URL that is supposed to be a document actually leads to an executable file,&#8221; blogged Hon Lau of Symantec. &#8220;This one is named vacc_profile.exe and is detected by Symantec as Infostealer.Banker.C. Incidentally, the URL is also &#8216;personalized&#8217; with the e-mail address of the recipient to make it look that little bit more authentic and less like mass-mailed spam.&#8221;</p>
<p>The subject lines of the e-mails vary, but some of the ones that have been observed are &#8220;Governmental registration program on the H1N1 vaccination&#8221; and &#8220;Your personal Vaccination Profile.&#8221;</p>
<p>If you have any doubt about the authenticity of the e-mail, don&#8217;t click it. Information about H1N1 can be <a href="http://www.cdc.gov/">found here on the CDC Website</a>.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://thecentexitguy.com/2009/12/03/spammers-spread-trojan-with-h1n1-e-mails/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

